5th Grade: Braised Greens Rice Ball, Sriracha Roasted Potato, Banana & Apple-Pear Butter Bread

This tasting was supposed to be easy to prep but the morning started with a power outage in my area due to the strong winds, while I was roasting the potatoes. I was hoping the cafeteria manager would allow me to use the professional oven to finish cooking them but she told me it was against kitchen protocol. My attempt to use the small teachers lounge oven led to burnt and awfully dry potatoes. The only solution was the microwave and even though I wasn’t completely happy with the results, I was grateful it wasn’t a complete fail.

The kids were so sweet with their encouraging words and voracious appetite. It was so fun to watch how something as simple as white rice stuffed with beet greens, kale and french sorrel can make them so happy. And the potatoes with the homemade sriracha hot sauce were a hit! Get the recipes here: Braised Greens Rice Ball, Sriracha Roasted Potato, Banana & Apple-Pear Butter Bread.

Huge thanks to Melinda and Britta for helping! Britta made over 100 rice balls! Love how this student made her own concoction with the leftover rice and banana bread.

