3rd Grade: Green & Red Tomato Salsa, Rhubarb Strawberry Jam

Before the summer break, The Learning Garden in front of the 4th grade area was home to 20 beautiful tomato plants, 10 pepper plants and 5 eggplants because Mud Baron (@cocoxochitl) at Muir Ranch tirelessly continues to support school garden programs by giving seedlings to UC Master Gardener volunteers. We are very grateful Mud! And I’m sure the wildlife at school is as well.

It was utter frustration to invest so much time to tend these plants over the summer break and then have almost all the tomatoes (still green) eaten! Onions were dug up and bitten. Cow peas and green beans seedlings gone. Young pepper plants bitten off. Sigh.

Whatever tomatoes I was left with, I harvested them green and wanted to combine them in a salsa with some amazing heirloom tomatoes given to us by Master Gardener Eleu at The Learning Garden in Venice. Thank you Eleu!
It was a flavorful tasting to start the school year. Get the Roasted Green & Red Tomato Salsa recipe here.

For something sweet, I was super excited to finally try rhubarb for the first time! I’ve never seen it at farmer’s markets and was so excited when Eleu offered it to me. Did you know that rhubarb has high levels of calcium and antioxidants? Slow cook it with strawberries into a jam… Wow, delicious! So naturally, we needed scones to spread it on. Thanks to my dear friend, Kristen Rutherford (check out her unbelievable Pixie Hollow Birthday Cake for her daughter), we can have a great and simple scone recipe. Trust me, the kids and staff raved about it. Get the Scone recipe here. Get the Rhubarb-Strawberry Jam here. Thank you Mi Sung, Valerie, Carrie and Britta for helping me serve! Images of the kids by @brittaphoto.

