Garden + Women’s Day Tea

Last year, when my daughter was in second grade, I attended the Women’s Day Tea planned by Chauncell and the amazing third grade parents. I was blown away. The phenomenal effort that went into every detail made that event a truly special one. This year, it was our grade level’s turn to host and it was wonderful to see all the families (and alumni families) give their time and energy to create the special event that we all experienced.

Spring in the garden means edible nasturtium flowers blooming vigorously and plenty of garden greens growing from our winter planting. So of course, I had to incorporate them into the event. Better yet, I had upper graders help with the harvesting. Savory turnovers stuffed with sautéed beet greens, broccolini, kale, turnip greens, spinach, swiss chard, lettuce, radish greens, french sorrel and a variety of roasted peppers made its way into the menu. Eat your greens by making these Garden Greens Turnovers.

I was looking at the lush herbs growing and really wanted to make something special for the second grade moms to take home. I had so much on my plate, I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to make enough to fill 80+ jars, but decided to go for it and made my house smell pungent for days. Fresh garlic, sage, rosemary, thyme, lemon zest and salt… processed and allowed to dry, is absolutely delicious on anything you can think of. Make this Garlic Herb Salt and you won’t regret it…  just be warned that what I called aromatic, my husband wanted to know when it was going to be packed and out of the house.

